top of page

The One Car You Should Consider For Your Next Summer Girls Trip


When I got the email about working Essence Festival 2017, immediately went into panic mode. It was just a few weeks out from the actual event and I didn't have any plans locked in. At that point, I just knew that every hotel room would possibly be sold out, and every flight to get to New Orleans would be crazy expensive. Luckily, I was only partially right as hotels were not completely sold out. Flights, however, were another story.


If you aren't aware, Essence Fest is the top summer festival for R&B lovers and if you've never been, you're literally missing out on life. Held annually during Fourth of July weekend, the festival draws in the who's who from each industry and is used to celebrate to the excellence of Black women. Read my thoughts on why you should attend from the first year I went.


So, instead of shoveling out $600 dollars for a flight from Atlanta to New Orleans, I decided to call up my girl Kim Ford of Jubilee Mag to see if she'd be down for a summer girls trip. Thankfully, she obliged and once the good people over at Toyota heard what we were up to, they offered to send us on our way in a 2017 Prius Hybrid!


Now if I'm being honest (which I always am with you guys in these posts), I've never driven a Toyota in my life. No, I'm not kidding. I've never had anything against Toyota cars, but growing up, my mom and dad always drove Nissans so I never really thought to get anything else. After getting the chance to drive this Toyota though, I totally see what I've been missing out on.


The 2017 Prius Eco model has the ability to get 58 city/53 highway MPG and recharges its own battery through the use of the engine. To some people, hearing high MPG may not be exciting, but to someone as financially conscious (a.k.a. cheap) as myself, that's a huge plus. After starting off on a full tank of gas, Kim and I only spent $30 combined — ROUND TRIP! If you want to get super technical, it was really $29.61 ($14.61 going and $15 coming back). If that isn't a sign that God is real, I don't know what is, lol!


Aside from the financial blessings that the car brings, the cool "spaceship-like" interior of the car is eye catching. Instead of a traditional shift lever that stays in the gear that you place it, the Prius offers upgraded technology as the gear pops back after you determine which direction you want to go in. Additionally, "park" has its own button separate from the lever. It was definitely a little weird to get used to at first, but life is all about adjusting so that's exactly what I did.


Another thing that was super surprising about the car is how quiet it is. It's literally as if you can't hear a thing once you start it up! Not to mention, the ride is so smooth! Other key features include a wireless charging dock, lane departure alert, integrated backup camera, moonroof and sunroof, touch-screen display and so much more.


Honestly guys, driving that car made me feel like I was in a whole new world. Like, is this what I've always been missing on when it comes to Toyota?! And more importantly, a Prius?! If it is, then count me in as a fan for the long haul. There are so many perks to this car that I'm a little disappointed that it took until 2017 for me to give it a test drive.


So, don't be like me and wait forever to see what the car offers. Head up to your nearest Toyota car dealer and — at the bare minimum — take the car on the test drive to see what I mean. If you do, let me know what you think by sending me a tweet with the hashtag #IDroveThePriusToo. To get more info on the 2017 Prius or any of the other cars from Toyota's line, visit www.toyota.com.


Until then!


With Creative (and Blown Away) Thoughts,

-Kp


*Although this post is sponsored, all opinions are my own.



bottom of page