top of page

Dines & Drives: A Brief Tour Through Miami's Culinary Scene


When I first got the call that my childhood best friend Reggie would be getting married in Miami this past March, the first thing that popped up in my mind was the fact that the heat would probably kill me. Though I’m a native of Florida, one thing I’ll never accept is the fact that it’s always hot and unfortunately, profusely sweating is not in my ministry. After a few moments of brief complaint, it dawned on me: I haven't been to Miami in almost a year and this would be the perfect excuse to enjoy some fun in the sun as well as get some good eats down in the books!


Since I had already planned to attend the wedding with one of my best friends Miki (who also grew up with Reggie and I), I asked her what she thought of just making a weekend of it to eat, drink, and be merry.


Of course, she obliged, and once my friends over at Mazda found out about our trip, they hooked us up with a sweet ride! The pearl white Mazda 3 — like many of my other experiences with the brand — was a great fit for this specific trip. Not only was it a great size for a small girl's trip, fueling it up was definitely pocket-friendly. Although it's sized smaller in comparison to the CX-5 or CX-9, the amount of room was still enough for us to pack as much as we liked and cruise around in real style.


After the smooth and comfortable three and a half hour drive from Orlando to Miami, our first stop in town was Miami's own Finga Licking for some highly talked about eats. The restaurant, though new, has become a frequented spot for locals, out-of-towners, and celebrities alike. You truly never know who you'll run into while there. And, if you choose to stop by, make sure you get the Mystery Drink (non-alcoholic) or the Dirty Mystery Drink (alcoholic).

Once we filled our belly's, we made way to our hotel — the new Hampton Inn & Suites in Brickell.


Known as a cost-friendly hotel, this particular Hampton Inn & Suites was unlike your traditional option from the brand. To be honest, I was quite surprised at how swanky it was. More reminiscent of a boutique hotel, the conveniently located hotel was the perfectly situated right in the midst of everything. Literally just a short walk, drive, or Lyft ride away from every single place we needed to hit that weekend, the hotel was surely a hidden gem of the Brickell area.



Since we got there the day before the wedding, we decided to stop by a poppin' spot that a lot of locals had been talking about. Area 31, which is found on the 16th floor of Miami's luxurious Kimpton EPIC Hotel, kept us busy for the night. From delicious dinner to dancing the night away, Area 31 was everything that people talked about and more. Boasting breathtaking views and plated perfection, the restaurant (which offers "Social Hour" from 5 p.m. to 11 p.m. where the drinks are priced by the hour) kicked our weekend off just right.


Hot items on this menu include the the Carpaccio and the Australian Lamb Chops.

Saturday was filled with events. From breakfast near South Beach to the wedding that night, we made sure to make the most of our day


Since we didn't have to be at the wedding until later that evening, we decided to fill our morning with stopping by the only "daily brunch" spot in Miami for some bottomless mimosas. The Social Club, which is literally a block or two away from the actual beach, has one of the best tasting brunch menus I've had in quite some time. Some menu items to get your tastebuds ready for would be the Fresh Doughnuts, the amazing Chicken & Waffles, and "The" Breakfast Sandwich.


After wrapping up brunch, we had a few hours to kill before heading back to the Hampton to get ready for the wedding. So, what did we do? Stop by the beach and one of my favorite walkways found at the Nautilus to get a few quick shots. Truthfully, it was just nice to hang out with one of my best girlfriends and feel like we were teenagers again. Talk about a good time! And, the wedding, was lovely from start to finish as were the bride and groom!


Although we had a plate at the wedding, once we got back to the hotel, we decided to take the short walk to the Brickell City Centre to indulge in some authentic Mexican food at Tacology. Although I expected to come in and have the typical tequila and corn tortillas, this restaurant was anything but that. Still delivering some traditional Mexican eats, Tacology offered up a modern twist on their extensive menu. I will warn you though, the menu can seem to be overwhelming at first, but if you need help, the servers are more than eager to do just that. Items to keep an eye on at this location would be the Shrimp Tacos, Seasonal Guacamole, Crab Meat Tostadas, and the Guava Cheesecake. (Especially the cheesecake!)

Before we hit the road back to Orlando, we had to stop by one of the most talked about Asian restaurants on South Beach.



As our time came to an end, I talked Miki into making a few more stops before we got back on the road. Since she wanted to see the art in the Wynwood district, I figured we could just do it all on our way out. So, we did just that.


Although Iw wasn't sure if she even liked Asian food as much as I did, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to hit up Tanuki — one of the most talked about Asian eateries on South Beach. Once we got there and started eating though, I realized that she probably enjoyed it more than me! Delivering full on culture in every dish and drink, this has quickly become one of my favorite places to enjoy quality Asian cuisine in Miami. Key items on this menu include the Tuna Crispy Rice, Shrimp Har Gow, Salmon with Pear, Scallop Black Truffle, and the Samurai Mule.

All in all, this was one of the best trips that I could have t I've taken to Miami thus far. Not only did I get to eat some great food, but I got to take one of my best friends along with me for the ride! Since I truly can't choose my favorite out of all these delicious places I tried, is there any place that you think you'll try on your next trip down based off of my pictures? I want to know! And, if you happen to hit any of the places listed, let me know what you think. I want to know if you think it's as good as I do!

Until my next dine and drive!

Creatively (and Plumply) yours,

-Kp

bottom of page